private cultures

Two observations. First, I believe many of us have had experiences like the following. I look back on the objective facts and accomplishments of my life to date, and I at once intuit “there’s so much more to me than that”. What though? Perhaps my unactualized potentials? A young man might naturally think this, but one with more years behind than ahead no longer flatters himself for having worlds of unrealized potential and is driven to suspect that the problem is more metaphysical, rooted perhaps in some gulf between the subjective and objective.

Second, we sincerely believe that the most important things in our lives are our relationships with loved ones and with God, that our communion with them is more important than solitary pleasures, however elevated (e.g. thinking, creativity). However, we cannot just be with friends and family. For short periods of time, it is enough to be silent in each others’ presence. On dramatic occasions like a reunion after long separation or a deathbed, expressions of love and gratitude are in order, but again quickly run their course. If one is to enjoy the presence of a beloved friend or kinsman for any length of time, one must turn with him to some other subject; one must turn to chatting–about shared memories, hobbies, politics, fiction, or some other subject admittedly of less importance than the bond of the two discussing it–or to some sort of activity. ”Well, we can’t just sit and stare at each other!” you’ll say. Still, I find it interesting that the bond of the two requires a shared attention to a third.

Each human soul is a whole world unto itself. But each family, as well as each deep group of friends, is also its own private world. This became especially clear to me during the pandemic years. My wife and daughters and I have always spent a lot of time together, but then we spent little time with anyone else. With what ingenuity we had turned inward, the stories and games (our games being mostly stories acted out) we made up for each other became ever more elaborate, with ever more layers of character development and backstory to our imaginary world, a dramatic collaboration that continues to this day. My wife and I were and continue to be the main conduits of the larger culture to our children. Some of what we read to them I’d consider great literature; some of what we exposed them to were television shows from our childhood for which I’d make no claim to objective greatness. Either way, carrying these books, movies, and television shows from the wider culture to our family’s culture meant them becoming parts of a new whole (for example, the game my wife and I have of trying to stump each other with obscure Star Trek quotes), probably taking on new contextual qualities. I know other families who had similar experiences of the lockdown years.

A modest example of the same thing is the inside joke. I’d suppose every family and close group of friends has some of these. The point of inside jokes is not that they’re not funny enough for public comedy; some of them are brilliantly clever. But they are too attached to particular personalities and a shared history to be intelligible without them. Some plays and novels begin as stories shared among a group of intimates around a friendly fire; what sets them apart from truly private stories is that these others were detachable, able to be understood and enjoyed by those outside the circle.

I’ve said before that one reason American culture exports so easily is because it is insufficiently intimate, overly public and detachable, because its creators and audiences belong to different subcultures.

When close friends, spouses, or families are together, they automatically fall into building up their private culture of shared memories and imaginations. If each family is not only a group, but also a culture, then most of humanity–not only the great poets and artists–are significant cultural creators, just for private, intimate cultures and not the public, wider one. It is not outrageous to say that I am the Homer of the culture of my little family of four, and that my public life is neither my most important legacy nor the one into which I have objectified the most of my self.

In fact, I belong to two private cultures, the one I grew up in and the one my wife and I formed with our children. This cleavage feels unnatural, a terrible price I’ve incurred by living far away from my parents, my brother and sisters, and (in yet another distant part of the country) my wife’s parents and sister. Indeed it is not historically normal to live far from one’s family and in-laws, and I have not sufficiently considered the rights of my parents to their grandchildren, of whom they have seen too little since the lockdowns.

Totalitarian Leftism is devouring the public culture, replacing everything with itself. Those of us who have not internally submitted to Leftism find the public culture increasingly loathsome. At some point soon, we may cease to see any value in participating in it at all. That is, even the idea of contributing a great novel, musical composition, or scientific discovery to the wider culture will lose any sort of appeal (even supposing one had the talent to do such a thing); how could I desire any creation of mine, anything into which I have mixed my self, to be recognized by and incorporated into that? Leftists may still wish to contribute to the public culture that they own, but however talented they are, the requirement that their work serve the hegemonic ideology will make it more a simulacrum of true art or science than the real thing. The rest of us will come to prefer our audience of a few.

9 thoughts on “private cultures

  1. @Bonald – Excellent reflections.

    I hope it isn’t too patronizing to say that what I value especially about *your* blogging, is the unusual capacity to reflect upon, and learn from, your experiences. I never know quite what to expect when I read you!

    A couple of points: “our communion with them is more important than solitary pleasures, however elevated (e.g. thinking, creativity)”

    As you are probably aware, this difference you posit between family and private, and your relative downgrading of thinking and creativity, is refuted by what you go on to say – which is evidence of genuine creativity. That you write it explicitly, is evidence of solitary reflective thinking.

    I would say that we ought not to separate family and private, nor should we aspire to the wordless stasis of “For short periods of time, it is enough to be silent in each others’ presence. On dramatic occasions like a reunion after long separation or a deathbed, expressions of love and gratitude are in order, but again quickly run their course.” – as if this were the highest aspiration. These are great moments that feel “out-of-time”, suspended (like a snapshot) – but of course they aren’t really.

    It is both natural and necessary that family life be “longitudinal”, active, dynamic – i.e. have a subject-matter; and *ideally* (as in Heaven, I presume) this would be infused with the creativity as well as unique nature of each member.

    I would also like to suggest that “things are Worse than you say!”

    “At some point soon, we may cease to see any value in participating in it at all.”

    The point to recognize, I believe, is that there is no possibility of Not participating in public culture – since it is everywhere, and maintains us physically alive, even as it spiritually kills us. We Must participate in it – yet remain Christian.

    (This ought not to be a problem; on the basis that there have always been Christian literal-slaves of evil tyrannical masters (maybe the ultimate in an evil public culture); compelled to *do* evil on pain of death, potentially excluded from the Bible, a church etc. – and yet, I assume (maybe others disagree, but I am confident that God *always* enables a path to salvation for all His beloved children), they may nonetheless, attain to salvation.

    Also, public culture is significantly in each of us, and every member of our family – so in practice there is no genuinely distinct Us and Them – except (and this is vital) we inwardly and spiritually and explicitly reject public culture, in the sense of recognizing it as (spiritually-, Christianly) evil by intent and overall.

    But we cannot physically opt-out and stay alive, and although we can and should reject public culture ideally; it is still embedded in all of us (as with the Solzhenitsyn quote about evil and the human heart).

    • Thank you for these excellent observations, Bruce. Also, I’m sorry that for some reason your comments have been consigned to the spam folder. You’re right that my contrast between interpersonal communion and thinking/creativity is too strong; a full life needs both, and the two interpenetrate and enrich each other.

  2. The private culture of a family is better because it is created and received with love. You tell your children a story because you love them, and they listen to that story on the same terms. Public culture is created for money, or fame, or political machination. It is received by nit-picking critics in a spirit of denigration. My children are now too old to be engrossed by my stories, but I will never forget what it felt like back in the day.

    •  My children are now too old to be engrossed by my stories, but I will never forget what it felt like back in the day.

      Thinking about deceased relatives and when I was younger how much I enjoyed their stories, JMSmith’s line felt a bit like a knife in the heart. The problem with these privative spheres is at their best they seem so transitory and even brittle.

      • A man alienated from official culture becomes a cultural nomad. Appalled by the city that is being built around him, he builds wigwams and teepees that will soon vanish without a trace. The pathos is, however, tempered by the knowledge that everything under the moon vanishes sooner or later. Duration is not the measure we should use.

  3. Wow, synchronicity explodes again into my life. And now, by me, into yours – whoever you might be.

    Thanks for this, Bonald. It is spookily timely.

    I have over the last week been absorbed entirely in the private culture of world class whitewater boatmen (of which I am thanks be to God an unworthy member (what were these demigods thinking, to let me into their crew, for heaven’s sake?)). This, thanks to the sudden nowise anticipated, indeed outrageous incipient death from turbo cancer of one of our prime exemplars. He’s world famous, in our little private culture; justly so, for the guy is a force of nature. He is my senior as a professional outdoorsman by a year or three – an age, back an age ago, when we were both in our twenties – and also one of my dearest friends. We rowed together in the Grand Canyon for 5 years or so. He went on from the Grand to international celebrity boatman heroics (there are movies about them online); I had kids (one of very few in our crew who did, alas).

    The old crew has gathered from all over the world at his Marin County house. In breaks from just sitting with him as brothers while he suffers, we have been telling each other the stories we always told (most of us participated in many of them), in which he figured (and many of which he has himself told to the rest of us, again and again (the good stories get told over and over again, and everyone is entertained, more and ever more)).

    Culture comes down in the end to the stories we tell each other on account of a feeling – it isn’t even quite a hunch – that they are somehow both important and entertaining; worth telling. Talking, we think of a thing that happened, and then share it. Lots of such stories get told. They are edifying, and fun. That’s why we have and enjoy parties, and wakes; to remember, and learn. The better and more instructive a story, the more is it enjoyed, and so retold.

    By the telling of those stories, culture is created and maintained. By many such rehearsals are costly deliverances of success or failure in raw experience translated into custom, and then into tradition.

    The verymost important, deepest, most cutting and radical stories make their way into scripture and liturgy.

    What stories are worth telling? Speaking from my own perspective, of a whitewater boatman who has endured (and enjoyed) many life threatening adventures with my very best friends, the stories we find worth telling each other are about survival against all odds – especially if there is a humorous angle to them (there is almost always such an angle, especially with the best stories).

    So, they are almost all stories about disasters in the wilderness, and how men coped with them. Oh, and about women.

    We tell the former sorts of stories to each other around the campfire, drawing diagrams in the dirt. The latter sort we tell to each other one on one or two, over a beer in a bar or on a hike together.

    Last August, I told my dear friend who is now dying – suddenly, out of the blue, 20 years too soon – about the latest travails of my family, and he reciprocated. We were together with another of our oldest, best friends from whitewater days, on a sailboat on Lake Huron. I shook my head in sympathy at the pathologies that he and his dear loves endure, and he shook his head likewise at those that hurt me and mine. We prayed for each other. This was not a forthrightly liturgical procedure. We just said to each other, “I hope this all works out for you and your family.”

    Now Dave shall never again sojourn with me in the wilds. I was out there today with my dog, in the wind and weather, for hours. I felt my trail legs again; the ones that can go all day and feel better and more fluid with each step, despite the tiredness. I thought: “I shall be out here from now on for Dave, since he cannot do this anymore with me.”

    This, too, is how private culture is transmitted, and can then eventually become public, and traditional for a whole people: the wilderness is traversed for the sake of the departed.

    I’ll stop now. There’s a lot more about this that I must think about.

  4. In fact, I belong to two private cultures, the one I grew up in and the one my wife and I formed with our children. This cleavage feels unnatural, a terrible price I’ve incurred by living far away from my parents, my brother and sisters, and (in yet another distant part of the country) my wife’s parents and sister. …
    This is something I struggle with. When I was going to college and grad school, I wanted to get away from where I grew up, not because of any hatred for my hometown or my family, but to be more independent and to experience a different part of the country.
    But now because of that path I took, I have a job that is in a different part of the country from my parents and siblings. In retrospect, I wonder whether I should have stayed closer to home for my education, and whether I should now be making more efforts to find a job closer to my parents and siblings.

Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.