What I Saw During the Eclipse

They Live 01

My Downtown, as Photographed During the Eclipse

During a solar eclipse, light from the sun is not only diminished by the occulting transit of the moon, but that same light is also temporarily polarized.  The polarization shows things fleetingly in a new and revelatory way, as long as one is looking.  (It helps to be looking, as it were, out of the corner of one’s eye.) Rather than photographing the eclipse itself, as it passed over my city, and as many people were doing, I photographed the city.  The shots in this post document what I saw.

They Live 04

Interior of Local Beauty Parlor, as Photographed During the Eclipse

They Live 02

One-Dollar Bill, as Photographed During the Eclipse

Stealthy Reptilians

Lead Associate Coordinator of the Task Force on Community Technology (Left); and Vice Manager of the Task Force on Learning Partnerships (Right) from the Local State College, as Photographed During the Eclipse

Nessie

A Lake Monster, as Photographed During the Eclipse: Unlike the other things, this one was by no means unnerving; in fact, it was oddly reassuring.

11 thoughts on “What I Saw During the Eclipse

  1. Pingback: What I Saw During the Eclipse | @the_arv

    • @Ellen H. —
      They Live! (1988) was directed by John Carpenter. Roddy Piper and Meg Foster starred.

      @Rhetoctrates —
      Yes, and nemo sua sorte contentus est! (I know I’m not.)

    • so prophetic

      Heh. I gotta soft spot for 80’s dystopian bric-a-brac. Really, subtract RoboCop from the film and is Old Detroit much different than the real thing?

      • Quite different. There are too many white people, and the police are far too responsive to crime.

        Detroit these days is closer to Escape From New York funnily enough

  2. Pingback: What I Saw During the Eclipse | Reaction Times

  3. Some people had a “Solar Eclipse of the Heart”. I know it’s a bad joke using an over played song from the 1980s.

    • I listened to Fleischhacker’s Schrecklichkeit Symphony (2014), scored for gongs, kazoos, and chainsaws, and composed according to the twelve-tone method, with a few extra tones added whenever possible. Anticipating what I in fact saw, it seemed that Fleischhacker would make for ideal musical accompaniment.

Comment

