Playtime is Over

When you reduce selection pressure as the West has massively done since the Industrial Revolution, you get a lot more depravity (you get r instead of K), because the relative penalties to error and vice go way, way down. And vice versa: when you increase selection pressure, the relative rewards to virtue go way, way up, so you get lots more virtue.

We have no immediate prospect of an uptick in natural selection pressure, although the handwriting is on the wall. It’s out there (it always is).

But Trump is imposing artificial selection pressure (in part because he and his ilk can comprehend the writing in flame on the wall (to the depraved at their banquet, it is gobbledygook, nonsense, mere noise: mene, mene, tekel upharsin)). His basic message is simple: Playtime is over, no more pretend, everybody out of the pool, time to get dressed and back to work.

The liberals are going crazy because this strictly artificial – i.e., merely social, rather than biological – increase in selection pressure pushes the same neural and cognitive levers as would be triggered by a sharp uptick in natural selection pressure. It feels to them like a sort of death. They are terrified of death. Trump makes them aware of their death. Like death, he just doesn’t care about their whining (as much as they are used to). So they panic, and then they turn to defensive rage. It’s a tantrum.

66 thoughts on “Playtime is Over

  1. Pingback: Playtime is Over | @the_arv

    • Compared to his adversaries, Trump is serious and realistic. Were it otherwise, they would not be taking him so very seriously. They would be laughing and relaxed, knowing he was a pushover. Instead, they rage and foam, they rave, roar and moan.

      • You have got to be kidding. Trump is about as far from serious and realistic as it is possible to get. Having someone with the intellect and emotions of a five-year-old occupying the most powerful office in the world is not relaxing. He’s an unserious man granted serious power, an incredibly dangerous situation.

        I thought you were more serious. Apparently you belong to the faction who think anything is acceptable as long as it makes “the liberals” unhappy. What a twisted way to govern the world.

      • Trump is not too serious, to be sure – although I think you underestimate him (exactly as he would wish you to do). But I repeat: compared to his loony, deluded adversaries on the Left, he’s Solon.

    • a.morpheus
      It’s the constant lack of seriousness on the part of my fellow liberal brethren that gave us Trump as President. Michael Moore of all people (I have love/hate relationship with him) was one of the very first people in early 2016 to say don’t take Trump as a joke. Guess what, we now have him as President. Now many of the same people are already saying he is going to be impeached​. I will admit the more I see coming out each day the more I see this coming to fruition. As usual, the Democrats know how to blow a gift that keeps on giving. They needs to focus on winning an elections. They haven’t done very much to support candidates in the Georgia and Montana special elections. They think talk of impeachment will win them seats in Congress. They should remember Republicans lost seats in Congress in 1998 during the Clinton impeachment. So bottom line is the liberals and Democrats needs to get their acts together so they can win elections. Running against Trump won’t work forever.

  2. Pingback: Playtime is Over | Reaction Times

  3. As someone whose politics fall a little left of center, I will state from day one I have always taken him seriously. My criticisms​ of Trump and his negative effect on the nation extends beyond any political classification. Trump had shown a complete disdain for knowledge, facts, and the people who have spent a lifetime gaining professional experience. This is the source of my criticisms.

    • Ditto. Trump *shows* no interest in learning or the life of the mind, despite his manifest intelligence. And this is a weakness – an apparent weakness, anyway. For, he may be a voracious reader who, for reasons of strategy and tactics, wants to make himself look to his enemies (and even his friends) *as if* he knows little. Whether or not he has read Sun Tzu, he has shown a complete mastery of the arts of war as they are applicable to politics and business. It is almost as it he were a latter day iteration of Sun Tzu; as if, perhaps, his life in business had taught him the same lessons that Sun Tzu learned from war.

      I myself learned to negotiate from a master of the art who started out as a fighter pilot concerned from his very first session of training to make his fellow aviators believe he was fat and slow and stupid.

      As for Trump’s disdain for the professionals, I cannot but share it. Their stewardship of the West since 1955 or so has been an utter disaster. Things went downhill fast beginning with Suez. And a studied contempt for pointy headed intellectuals has been a venerable American tradition from the very start. Not that Americans are anti-intellectual; it takes a pointy headed intellectual to conflate skepticism of pointy headed intellectuals with anti-intellectualism.

      Ever notice that it’s never the men of the earth, or the men who work with their hands, who get us into trouble? Ever notice that it’s the men of the earth, the men who work with their hands, who always get us out of it?

      The way I look at it, it’s more important to be able to talk shop with construction workers, engineers and mechanics than it is to do so with professors. I’ve had the honor of being mistaken both for a professional academic and for a tradesman, by men who work in those fields. It’s the tradesmen you can’t fool with cant. Their respect is therefore worth more.

      No offense to my fellow Orthosphereans who toil away behind enemy lines in the academy. You guys know what I mean, I’m sure.

      Full disclosure: I am fully qualified as a professional only at finance, the outdoors, and ancient liturgical music. Even in those fields, I am a bit of an amateur.

      • I should have polished my statement a little more. I agree that is is very important to talk with engineers, construction workers, and mechanics. Throughout my life I have had the benefit of God blessing me with an intellectual curiosity. Often this curiosity has leaned towards the type of knowledge you would learn in the academy. Yet, my parents often made me participate in the yard work they loved so much. My father was a mason who would asked me to help him several times with jobs he would be working on. When he would tell stories with his friends and other family members who worked in the same profession I would often listen. I would rarely myself off from the spoke by him. My father dropped out of high school and my mother had a master’s degree. Fortunately both of them saturated me with different types of knowledge that I still build upon this day. Unfortunately I see very little if this in our current President. My definition of intellect curiosity extends beyond what is taught in the academy. It involves what is taught in a garage, a quarry, or other countless places outside of a place with four walls. This is why I have a disdain for our President who has a disdain for just about any type of knowledge.

      • James, I totally understand how you feel. I feel somewhat the same way. But consider this: Trump has succeeded at four or five fields as few men have succeeded in even one. Golf, beauty pageants, real estate, gambling, real estate development, entertainment, writing, politics: it’s astonishing when you think about it. How could he have succeeded that way, in so many disparate fields, if he was as utterly without a clue as you seem to think?

        Long ago, when I was a boy, I thought Hollywood people were probably mostly idiots. I got that from my parents. Hell, everyone thinks Hollywood is full of idiots. Then I dabbled a bit at being a professional entertainer (admittedly, a countertenor, singing late medieval music, but still … show business). What did I learn? Successful entertainers may be ignorant about Plato and plumb lines, but that *does not mean they are dumb.* Everyone you have heard about who is famous has succeeded against enormous odds. That alone deserves respect; deserves caution.

        We here at the Orthosphere, and all our fellow travelers across the reactionary web, disdain the Social Justice Warriors. Yet those hapless pathetic stupid clueless SJW’s have almost succeeded in destroying the most powerful and brilliant civilization the world has ever seen.

        Disdain is a dangerous thing. It misleads. Better to respect all our adversaries, both friend and foe; more prudent.

      • Checkmate to you about the use of the word disdain and the deeply negative overtones that come with it’s use. On the point of Trump’s success in the fields you mentioned, I would slightly disagree a little on your point. Yet, that would be another debate. The motivation for my post is Trump’s apparent dismissiveness of people who pursue knowledge, from fields such as mechanics to education, hits me a little personally in a couple of ways. I have a passion for politics and history that started to develop when I was a small boy. My love of reading and literature has only grown over the course of my life. In addition, an interest in philosophy has started to take hold the last several years. All this has been in spite of several learning disabilities that have made learning much more difficult for me. So when I have a passion for learning and politics mixed with a President who seems very dismissive of them you can see how passionate one individual such as myself can become.

      • Understood. Trump rubs me the wrong way, too. I wince when I listen to him. How can he be so … oblivious? It’s embarrassing.

        But, nevertheless, the proof is in the pudding. Trump has a *ton* of pudding. With all my work at learning, I have, what … a tablespoon or two? So, I try to keep an open mind.

        Glad to hear that you are lately interested in philosophy. It cannot but help.

      • Kristor,

        Please excuse some of the intensity of my statements in our debate. As I stated when a mix my of passions for politics, history, and learning converge upon the same point I become very passionate. And when I feel I am right about something I act like a bulldog with a large hambone. Yet, I still like to pride myself on being a left of center individual who enjoys a discussion and debate with others who may disagree with me at times.

      • Trump is not an honest tradesman, and I doubt he’s ever done physical labor. He’s a rich narcissist with an empty soul who has devoted his life to egoism and fraud. But at least he’s not an intellectual, so you can treat him as a hero.

        Damn, I thought better of you.

      • Yeah, and his adversaries are *way* more based. They’ve done a *lot* more physical labor, and know better than he does how the world really works. Plus they are lots more ethical, philosophical, and civic minded. And they know the difference between Pachelbel and Parmenides.

        Pffht.

        Get used to it, a.morphous. Construction workers and taxi drivers *love* Trump. And he loves them. Sorry. Too bad. Next!

      • Here is wisdom:

        The way I look at it, it’s more important to be able to talk shop with construction workers, engineers and mechanics than it is to do so with professors.

        Construction workers and mechanics might be generally lacking in vocabulary and the ability to express themselves precisely or perfectly accurately, but they know how things work; they know how to build things and repair a thing that is broken; they are down to earth and generally exhibit much humility. Those are some of the reasons it is hard to get anything by them.

        The professors and intellectuals here at the Orthosphere are a joy to talk shop with.

  4. @Kristor – Good work in asking the right question! I find it’s easy to be blown-off course.

    In real life it is never ‘Rejection due to imperfection!’ – and always ‘If not – then what?’

    We need to evaluate in terms of comparisions with the actual – including actual historical and actual elsewhere (but overall, not by cherry-picking one aspect from an integrated whole) – and even the actual possible, when that is done with honesty and care.

    Modern Leftism is essentially negative – lacking even the utopia of Marxism; it is based on generating outrage about decontextualised imperfactions (because decontextualised, the outrage is unbounded… ‘Death to micro-aggressors!’).

    • Hah! Indeed. No context, then no possibility of perfection. What is more (or rather, much less), no context, then *nothing but* imperfection. So, then, an endless relentless death by a thousand cuts, of everyone – including the Leftist himself.

  5. The following is from the Wikipedia entry on the New York Military Academy, which Donald Trump attended on the insistence of his father:

    “The days at NYMA typically begin at 6:00 am and end at 10:00 pm. Cadets attend grade-specific classes during that time and… participate in organized or intramural sports, activities, and study hall. During closed weekends, cadets are expected to attend additional leadership training, drill & ceremony, and maintain the appearance of their respective barracks. Upon gaining the opportunity for an open weekend, cadets in good academic standing can apply for weekend furlough. Along with Academics, Athletics, and Leadership, the fourth ‘pillar’ of cadet life is Character, reinforced continually by the Cadet Honor Code that NYMA shares with West Point.”

    Donald Trump later earned a baccalaureate in economics from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. The notion that President Trump is uneducated or that he disdains knowledge or that he has never done anything difficult is patently absurd.

  6. Given the results achieved by the professionals with their lifetimes of experience, it is understandable that Trump should wholly disregard them.

    • Yes — “professional,” like “expert,” has in any case always been a suspect term, but letting it stand for the moment, we should always ask, “A professional in what?” Intersectional Women’s Studies? Human Resources? Community Organizing? Continental [i.e., Marxist] Political Economy? Thuggery? The professionals who “run our institutions” have run them into the ground, morally and intellectually speaking.

      • These so-called professionals in their ivory towers are mostly charlatans. The ‘experts’ in the examples you provide demonstrate the errors of Cartesianism. They are completely detached from reality in their alternative universes of pure thought. True professionals, like the afore-mentioned mechanics and engineers, deal with what is real, be they doctors, nurses (orthodox) clergymen or veterinarians. I am reluctant to include the legal eagles nowadays, as many have embarked on their Cartesian star-ships.

  7. What President Trump disdains — and what I disdain — is not knowledge, but the fake knowledge in which our institutions have been stewing for the last forty years, and in imbibing which the Left has driven itself to a state of intoxicated hysteria.

  8. The dismissive of knowledge and expertise is something that extends beyond a simple Left/Right classification. We have a President who expresses a dismissive attitude towards people who learn things and continue to do so, our country has entered into dangerous territory. If you are going to build a bridge no one in their right mind place a professional trumpet player with absolutely no experience in charge of building it because he has no training or expertise in this endeavor. My point is on a certain level knowledge and expertise does matter. Can experience and knowledge insulate an individual from the world to create a sense of hubris, definitely. When our current President dismisses everyone else’s knowledge and expertise in favor of his claim to be smarter while he watches hours of cable news each day instead of reading then I do question his intellectual​ curiosity. I question how smart he is. I may sound like a snob, but so be it. I often go to great links to not sound like one and eat a slice of humble pie.

    • James, can you provide a link to some instance where Trump dismissed the value of knowledge or of knowledgeable people? I don’t recall him ever saying something of that sort. I recall him disparaging lots of people, certainly; but not on the basis of, or because of, their knowledge.

      • Kristor,
        Thank you for acting as a check on my impulsivity so I can improve the precision of my statements. I should of have used the term fields instead of people​. Dismissing the fields of science, literacy, and countless other fields as useless becomes dangerous.

      • Mr. Granger, “and countless other fields” seems equally impulsive to me. Also, I think you were more correct initially to say Trump dismisses people and not entire fields of study; E.g., Trump disregards (as “useless”) certain persons who propagate scientific theories which he considers pseudo science. Now, *perhaps* he concludes these persons and their theories are “useless” based entirely on his own preconceived notions and total unwillingness to learn something new. Or perhaps not. In any case it is people he is dismissing, not entire fields of study or inquiry such (broadly) Science or literary work in general.

    • Mr. Granger…

      It’s not your projected snobbishness that matters. It is failing to link a dying civilization with the failure of the “expert professionals” and ACCEPTING the natural dismissivness that shall ensue surly emanating from A PERCEPTIVE lay people.

      • First of all let me say I appreciate and welcome being challenged by people in such a manner that has been exhibited so far. If only many of our elected officials and society at large engaged with each in such a manner would we be the higher beings that God intended us to be. Now to address certain counters points being made. His dismissal of climate change as a hoax, vaccines being ineffective, and his disregard for basic civics. I forgot to add conspiracy theories. My liberal brethren are far from innocent themselves. The GMO and anti vaxxer hysteria comes f om my side tribe who ignores the history and science behind the effectiveness of GMO food and vaccines. I should say Trump is just a symptom of s bigger disease that spans beyond political labels.

      • But manmade climate change is a hoax and the left long ago destroyed the civic nation and Trump has only ever criticized the current overloaded vaccine schedule, not vaccines themselves.

      • The problem is when he meets with an anti vaxxer such as Robert Kennedy, who cannot be mistaken for a conservative, he gives credibility to my fellow liberal brethren who look at all vaccines as being bad. This attitude is dangerous and gaining steam on the left which is my side. When it comes to to climate change I will politely dissent and say the science is clear that it is happening because the issue could turn into another debate which could take us off course.

      • when he meets with an anti vaxxer such as Robert Kennedy

        Don’t forget, he also met with anti-sciencers Al Gore and Leo DiCaprio during the transition.

      • Anti vaxxers, whose ranks happen to be populated by my liberal brethren, often push the fallacy proven vaccines being unnecessary. When someone with such prominence gives a platform to someone who espouses a dangerous view. RFK Jr. has fought for things I believe in, but this is not one of them and greatly disappoints me. Anti vaxxers don’t need a soap box.
        http://rationalwiki.org/wiki/Anti-vaccination_movement

  9. “We” have already laid witness to a prelude of this anti-Trump frenzy in the person of Sarah Palin. The key contextual backdrop is homosexuality. Or better yet, the driving force behind this madness is a cabal of sexual degenerates. Just like Palin, Trump is REALLY ONE OF THEM (as in an autonomist, radical, I would argue) with a few “outlandish” preferences of his own that just so happen to align with traditional white America (a wall).

    And doesn’t this frothy-at-the-mouth fanaticism ALWAYS employ the same “tact?” Doesn’t this Leftist Zeitgeist always hit at and on the question of “intelligence” as though it had no other avenues of attack?

    If a dying civilization is not IN PART evidence of mass intelligence failure then “civilization” means “nothing.”

    And this ^^^ is a virtual reality that these barbarians seeks to make actual.

    • At least in his public face, Trump shows an ignorance of American history and the basic governing that can be dangerous for the nation. I would say this even if we had a Democratic President say this.

      • His recent comments​ about Andrew Jackson. His claim that most people wouldn’t realize Lincoln was a Republican. Trump has made grandiose claims about record crime and unemployment levels. I realize the way the unemployment rate is currently measured has its critics. I also realize each side of the political spectrum spin the numbers in their favor when they can. My problem is when a basic standard is cast aside for the sake of political expediency by a political actor no matter the political label.

  10. Consider these facts, Jim, and contemplate, if you will, the associated questions:

    The men represented by the statues that have been and are being systematically removed from public places in Louisiana and elsewhere in the American South — Pierre Gustave Toutant-Beauregard, Robert E. Lee, Jefferson Davis, and others — by Democratic Party municipal and state regimes were stalwart Democrats. Slavery was wholly owned by the Democratic Party. The KKK was entirely the creature of the post-bellum Democratic Party in the South. Segregation and Jim-Crow were pure Democratic Party institutions. The Japanese internment in WWII was, again, effectuated under total Democratic Party dominance in the executive branch and the two houses of Congress. (You can add to that the fire-bombings of the German and Japanese cities.) Bull Connor was a Democrat. George Wallace was a Democrat. Robert Byrd, who is represented by numerous portraits and statues in public places, and who has countless institutions, such as schools, named after him, was a Grand Kliegel of the KKK and a lifelong member of the Democratic Party. Did any teacher at any level of your education ever tell you these facts? If you had mentioned any of these facts in any of your graduate seminars, except mine, what do you suppose the reaction would have been from other students or from your instructors? And what the consequences to you? Did you ever read about any of these facts in any textbook at any point in your education? Have you read any news story reporting that anyone, anywhere, has proposed to delete the name of Robert Byrd from any of its public manifestations?

    Is the Democratic Party the right-wing party or the left-wing party in American politics? Why are Democratic Party regimes at the municipal and state levels in the American South so intent on removing those statues and images?

    Have you asked people casually whether they know of Lincoln as a Republican or a Democrat? I asked two freshman composition classes that question in the fall semester. In both classes, every student thought that Lincoln was a Democrat. When I asked them why they thought so, their answer was, “He freed the slaves.” That is not true, of course. Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation only theoretically manumitted slaves held in the seceding states. The Proclamation was, incidentally, an executive order. The Republican Congress abolished slavery — in the North and the South — after the conclusion of the war, by the vehicle of the Fourteenth Amendment.

    Did you know that Free Blacks (Les gens de couleur libres) in Louisiana, including my great grandfather and my great grand uncle, enlisted in secessionist armies? Did you know that General Jackson owed his victory over the English at the Battle of New Orleans in significant part to the cooperation granted him by the same Free Blacks, or their fathers, who were afterwards and for a time known as “Jackson’s Whites”?

    I find it quite likely that President Trump has more facts at his beck and call than the representative contemporary college humanities instructor or cable-news Wolf-Blitzer or Rachel-Maddow clone. You are right, therefore, to value humility as a fall-back position, a virtue unfortunately not shared by the ardently left-leaning elites of our institutions, some of whom are ignorant, many of whom are cynically mendacious. A pervasive sense that our governors have been lying to the people, whether that sense was focused or articulate or not, was one of the driving forces in the electoral victory of President Trump last November. People hunger for truth and by the tens of millions they feel starved for want of it.

    Sincerely,

    Tom

    Oh — and one other question: How many times does the word “democracy,” after which the Democratic Party denominates itself, appear in the Constitution?

    • Tom,

      I remember you telling me about your great grandfather during a conversation last year. I definitely remember these shameful chapters of American History that were vocally supported by Democrats. My mother, being a history major from Eisenhower College, developed my love of history which taught me to look deeply beyond grand narrative wrapped up with nice neat facts. Unfortunately we often see political realignments and the historical sanitizing that comes with them regardless of political party or persuasion. We definitely have a problem with history in our nation’s collective consciousness in spite of many people claiming to be history buffs”. In general, I am not a big fan of memorials to individuals.

      • Jim, these “shameful chapters of American History” were not just “vocally supported by Democrsts”. Hell, that is half of Prof. Bertonneau’s point! What we’re talking about – Constitution wise and otherwise – is that Democrats have *always* been a (Jacobin) bane on our society! Read Noah Webster for example, this all becomes eminently clear reading him.

      • Mr. Granger…

        The anti-Trump fanatics lose the entire argument once everyone acknowledges their unrelenting desire for totalitarian integration.

        TRUMP is a product of “equality.”

        TRUMP is the result of a taboo on civil separation.

        TRUMP is the byproduct of radical liberalism…

        TRUMP is an opportunist open to ideological secession.

        TRUMP HAS BEEN a “social liberal” nearly his entire life.

        Trump was NEVER a “white nationalist,” a national socialist nor a “white supremacist.”

        Trump was never a conservative nor a Christian.

        So until *you* come to the truth about what Trump really was/is then your critical assessment appears to be nothing more than the same kind of leftist hijinks that those at the Orthosphere are already well aware of.

      • The bottom line is Donald Trump has always been whatever he wanted to be as long as it had benefited one person, Donald Trump.

      • That’s the Narrative that the Left is pushing with their propaganda machine. It appears that you’ve bought it, uncritically. It is odd then that many people who actually know Trump admire and respect him – even those he has fired.

      • Mr. Granger…

        Being “what you want to be” because it benefits “you” is standard issue “liberalism” through the nineties to the present.

        What do you think the trans movement really boils down to anyway?

        So again…

        TRUMP is one of YOURS…

        And as Kristor pointed out further down the post, *your side* eats its own.

        The mass leftist hysteria is to make it seem otherwise.

        Your critique is, in part, to make it seem as though Trump has not [always] been tolerant of the trans movement… To make it seem as though Trump is on the other side. Yet, it is a fantastic lie.

    • If you had mentioned any of these facts in any of your graduate seminars, except mine, what do you suppose the reaction would have been from other students or from your instructors? And what the consequences to you? Did you ever read about any of these facts in any textbook at any point in your education?

      Uh, yes. Any mildly educated person should know these facts, certainly anybody in a graduate seminar.

      And everybody also knows that the Democratic party of today is not the same people (obviously) as the Democratic party of 100 or 60 years ago, and doesn’t have the same ideology. And everybody knows exactly when and how it changed (triggered primarily by LBJ’s support of civil rights and Nixon’s embracing the Southern Strategy).

      A pervasive sense that our governors have been lying to the people, whether that sense was focused or articulate or not, was one of the driving forces in the electoral victory of President Trump last November. People hunger for truth and by the tens of millions they feel starved for want of it.

      Anybody who voted for Trump expecting to be fed truth is in for a very large disappointment. Not that they don’t deserve it, since his entire being is fraud and there is nothing subtle about his fraudulence.

      I’m trying to figure out how any halfway intelligent person could believe the things I’ve been reading here lately. I can only guess that your hatred of liberals is so overwhelming that you are ready to embrace anybody who makes liberals unhappy, no matter how stupid and vile they may be in any other aspect.

      I don’t understand this and it seem very sad to make hatred of your fellow citizens into your central organizing principle.

      • Projection. It’s the Left that is suffused with hatred.

        null

        The Leftist’s only analytical tool is the struggle for power. By his lights, all social transactions reduce to rape, or to robbery, or to slavery, or to murder; society as such is rendered essentially and incorrigibly unjust. The Struggle is permanent, and inescapable. Leftism thus pits Leftists in an everlasting war with their fellows; so even after the triumph of the Revolution, the war continues, intensifies even; and the Leftists find themselves turning and rending each other, and slaughtering their quondam clients – the peasants, the workers – by the million.

        The poverty of the Leftist analytical tool kit is nicely illustrated by the fact that it seems natural to you to understand those who disagree with you as motivated in that disagreement by hatred, rather than, say, a thirst for truth, righteousness, sanity, peace.

        The Right feels mostly pity toward the Left, the way that one would toward a man beset by delusions or demons and driven mad. It is as inapt to hate a Leftist for his moral pathology as it is to hate a hydrophobic dog for his rabidity.

      • a.morphous…

        Again, your entire rebuttal crumbles once YOU acknowledges both a dysfunctional relationship AND THAT PARTY which ENFORCES a strict taboo on any kind of separation.

      • Thordaddy,

        I am a far from a ” being whatever you want to be” individual. I just dislike people presenting themselves to be more than what they present themselves to be. I do believe in standards and centers that transcend political labels. I never mentioned anything about trans issues. I will not go down that road in this discussion only because I have found this discussion fruitful and challenging to my views. I am easily distracted things (I have a major diagnosis of ADHD and I am not kidding) so I try to stay focused.

      • Mr. Granger…

        You’ve already gone down the road in attacking a substantive symbol of the trans movement UNDER THE GUISE of rationally critiquing Donald Trump, the “madman” of the “right…”. The Nazi “white supremacist” fascist racist homophobe.

        That Trump has CROSSED over to the Right Side in some crucial aspect (the wall) does not make him a man of the Right, now or ever.

        He is one of YOURS (a liberal) and those not unlike you are attempting to devour him as he steps outside the cabalistic cage ANYWHERE.

      • The poverty of the Leftist analytical tool kit is nicely illustrated by the fact that it seems natural to you to understand those who disagree with you as motivated in that disagreement by hatred, rather than, say, a thirst for truth, righteousness, sanity, peace.

        I’m making a very specific point that seems to be lost on you. I don’t know what motivates you, but if it’s a thirst for truth, righteousness, sanity, or peace, and those motivations have led you to support Donald Trump, then something has gone deeply wrong, since he is practically the living embodiment of the opposite of all of those qualities.

        I am assuming that the reason you have gone so wrong is hatred of liberals, based on other comments. Perhaps I’m incorrect and there is some other reason, but I can’t imagine what it could be.

      • I get your point, I totally do. Trump is indeed a boor. And compared to his insane adversaries, he is the soul of reason and common sense.

        You can’t imagine what reason I might have for this opinion, other than hatred of liberals. You prove my point. Hatred is the only way you can understand things.

      • a.morphous:

        I am assuming that the reason you have gone so wrong is hatred of *the right*, based on other comments. Perhaps I’m incorrect and there is some other reason, but I can’t imagine what it could be.

        We should probably both stop assuming things about persons we don’t know. Doing so just makes the person(s) doing the assuming look like an ass.

      • I get your point, I totally do. Trump is indeed a boor. And compared to his insane adversaries, he is the soul of reason and common sense.

        You can’t imagine what reason I might have for this opinion, other than hatred of liberals. You prove my point. Hatred is the only way you can understand things.

        So you think Trump’s adversaries (let’s take, say, Hillary Clinton and Adam Schilff as representative, and let’s throw in a Republican, say Rick Wilson) are “insane” and, compared to Trump, lacking in reason and common sense. But you don’t hate them.

        OK, so what are your entirely-non-hate-based reasons for thinking that?

      • Re Hillary and the SJW Progressives:

        • Insane warmongering with Russia, our natural ally in the fight with Islam.
        • Crazy made up conspiracy theory that Hillary lost not because she’s a loser but because the Russians conspired with the Trump campaign to reveal the corrupt perfidy of the DNC and the MSM.
        • Advocacy of the whole trans agenda; bathroom insanity; etc.
        • Welcoming millions of immigrants to the West who hate the West.
        • Insistence that Trump is “literally Hitler.”
        • Hatred of the deplorables.
        • Advocacy of abortion: demographic suicide.
        • Hatred of Christianity.
        • Hatred of white men.
        • Support of violent BLM cop-killing movement.
        • Incredibly *stupid* made up story about Benghazi.

        Shall I go on?

        I don’t hate these people. I feel sorry for them. Their world is collapsing, and they are lashing out in rage and panic. It’s pathetic.

      • Dear Kristor, many of these items on your list are complete horseshit, others have a grain of truth but distorted beyond all recognition. And others – well, let՚s take gender and bathrooms, a topic on which I find both sides exceedingly silly. Even if your side is 100% right, is that a good reason to pick for the leader of the free world, the most powerful office in the world, a man of near-total ignorance, a man whose only virtue is lack of virtue?

        None of your reasons make sense to me and that is because you hate liberals and I don՚t.

        Not sure why you are so defensive about the word “hate”, anyway. If liberals were truly as vile as you paint them to be, it would be entirely appropriate to hate them. So why the shame?

      • a.morphous

        Please do me a favor, try and temper you comment a little for me. I can only speak for myself but I try to be a humble liberal who acts as someone who knows something and not everything there is to know in the world.

      • Are you living on the planet where Dianne Feinstein just said that there is no evidence of collusion with Russia, but rather only “rumors and newspaper stories”? Are you living on the planet where Alan Dershowitz just said that no crime has been committed? Because that’s the planet I’m living on. If you are not, then maybe your opinions about all the other things on my list of insanities put forth by the SJW crowd are likewise … insane.

        A.morphous, I’m not defensive about the word “hate.” You introduced it to this thread, saying repeatedly that the Right is full of hate, and that you “can’t imagine” any other motivations for our opinions. You are the one who is obsessed with it. All I did was point out that you are in this engaging in projection. It is the Left that is suffused with hate. It is the Left that advocates murder of cops. See above.

        The Right does not hate the Left, but rather views Leftists with bewilderment, amazement, pity, amusement, and – when they act so despicably as they have lately done – contempt.

        None of your reasons make sense to me and that is because you hate liberals and I don’t.

        Res ipsa loquitur. You can’t understand your political adversaries, because, I repeat, *the only analytical tool in the Marxian toolkit is struggle, class war – hate.* It’s all you’ve got.

        And it’s a clumsy, blunt, inapt tool.

        What’s worse, it seems to blind its victims to the existence of any other mode of analysis. It seems to render them incapable of learning. It cripples them intellectually. To wit:

        None of your reasons make sense to me and that is because you hate …

        I.e.: *you* can’t understand because there is something wrong with *me.*

        As you yourself here say, the Leftist monomania about hatred – or, more generally, materialist dialectical struggle – makes it impossible for you to understand my arguments. It stultifies you.

        What’s really amazing to me is how even an extremely intelligent and reasonable Leftist such as yourself does not seem to be able to see how he is projecting his own hatred onto his interlocutors, even when the projection has been pointed out to him repeatedly. You recur to the projection again and again. It seems to be invisible to you, when to everyone else, it is as plain as the nose on your face.

        It’s really rather shocking, to see this played out in real time, over and over. The sight does not engender in me hatred or anger. It engenders sorrow, and pity.

        Even if your side is 100% right, is that a good reason to pick for the leader of the free world, the most powerful office in the world, a man of near-total ignorance, a man whose only virtue is lack of virtue?

        You didn’t ask why I prefer Trump to Clinton. You asked me why I think the Left is insane. Trump at the very least does not sign on to the Left’s insanities. That alone puts him head and shoulders above them.

      • Also, on my planet it is obvious that there was Russian interference with the election and collusion with the Trump campaign. There are daily revelations of new evidence for this, and it constitutes treason, a crime I would have thought conservatives would consider rather severe.

      • Are you living on the planet where Dianne Feinstein just said that there is no evidence of collusion with Russia, but rather only “rumors and newspaper stories”? Are you living on the planet where Alan Dershowitz just said that no crime has been committed? Because that’s the planet I’m living on. If you are not, then maybe your opinions about all the other things on my list of insanities put forth by the SJW crowd are likewise … insane.

      • Giving aid and comfort to the enemies of the Hillary campaign (assuming for the sake of argument this is so) does not constitute treason against the U.S. you ding dong. Lol.

      • Kristor:

        Are you living on the planet where Dianne Feinstein just said that there is no evidence of collusion with Russia, but rather only “rumors and newspaper stories”? Are you living on the planet where Alan Dershowitz just said that no crime has been committed?

        No, he lives on the planet where he accepts, uncritically, rumors and newspaper stories that confirm his greatest fears and suspicions; he lives on the planet where he dismisses out of hand statements to the contrary even when coming from his ideological fellow travelers.

        Where there is smoke there is usually fire is certainly very true. The problem occurs when one assumes the source of the fire, and thus of the smoke, is perfectly legit and exactly as it is made to appear on the surface. More often than we like to admit, however, the source of the fire turns out to be a qualified fireman who likes to get his name in the paper and watch things burn.

        Prof. Smith has dealt with this before, here:

        https://orthosphere.wordpress.com/2017/01/20/smoke-without-fire/

      • He’s stuck in the Matrix, the poor fellow, and cannot conceive that there is a wider, richer, more intelligible, more vivid and more concrete world beyond the Matrix, or therefore such a thing as a way out to it – or any reason to seek such a way.

        So he does not see the exits that surround him on every side. He cannot see the red pills we show him; not at all. All he sees is blue.

Comment

