Notice: The Orthosphere May Be Moving

Our domain is expiring quite soon, and we are having some frustrating difficulties renewing it. So we may need to copy the Orthosphere to another domain in the next few days. We’ll keep you posted.

Do any readers have expertise with the process of moving a whole WordPress site from one domain to another? If so, and if you are willing to help us figure out how to do it, please comment below and we’ll contact you by email.

Thanks, all.

UPDATE: The site moved this morning (February 8, 2016) to orthosphere.wordpress.com. This change may or may not be permanent.

 

11 thoughts on “Notice: The Orthosphere May Be Moving

  1. Pingback: Notice: The Orthosphere May Be Moving | Neoreactive

  2. I don’t have that particular knowledge, but I do have some general IT experience. I’m willing to lend a hand. What’s the problem? Can you switch to another domain seller who will renew?

    • Thanks! I’ll reply here for the sake of other readers who may have the same question.

      It looks as though we are not going to be able to renew orthosphere.org except by submitting a bid to a public when our license to the domain lapses. Our bid is not likely to win the auction. The likely winner is one of several companies that make a business out of buying all expiring licenses to domains, then reselling them.

      So, we need to copy the Orthosphere – 900 posts, about 26,000 comments, etc. – to another domain. We have one set aside for the purpose already at WordPress, and we have administrative rights to the current site that we are pretty sure will allow us to perform the copy/paste. We just don’t know how to actually press the buttons to get that process going. It is that where we could use some help.

      I’ll respond now by email.

  3. Kristor:

    I don’t run a stand alone installation, I just blog at WordPress.com, and I have no experience with stand alone implementations.But now and then I back up my whole blog to an export file, and I have lots of content that I moved across from Blogger a few years ago. Some of it is mildly embarrassing, I guess, but I keep it around for the record like scribbles on the refrigerator from when I was a kid.

    As far as button pushing goes, at least on WordPress.com you just go to the “WP Admin” page, select “Tools” and “Export”. You can create an archive file of the entire site there, which should be easy to import into another WordPress installation just by using “Import” from the same menu rather than “Export”. I suggest going through the whole process, including the Import at the new location, before your current domain expires. (I guess an expiring domain doesn’t mean the content disappears, but you might have to access it by IP address at that point — I have no idea what your back end VPS or real hardware or whatever looks like).

    My move over from Blogger in the first place was a bit trickier with tens of thousands of comments, and that actually broke the (older, at this point) version of WordPress that WordPress.com was running when I first attempted to export from WordPress. IIRC I wrote a Ruby script to do some of the processing from Blogger’s output to create an XML file that WordPress could read, but it has been a while and in any event it shouldn’t be relevant here going from WP to WP. The relevant point is that if you guys are running an older version of the WordPress software on a VPS or other private server that might give you trouble. In my case a WordPress employee did the first export and then they fixed the bug, so now I just do them myself by pushing the button.

    In general it is a good idea to back up the site now and then to an export format. Sure, theoretically servers and databases get backed up, depending on who is running things and how good of a job they are doing; but having more than one way available to skin the cat when the walls cave in is always a good idea. Plus reactionary content has a habit of disappearing sometimes if we don’t keep personal copies of it ourselves.

    • Thanks, Zippy, this is really helpful. I will run an export this minute.

      I’m pretty sure we will be able to move the blog pretty simply from orthosphere.org to orthosphere.wordpress.com, with no interruption of service. We may later move it to a new domain I have just registered.

  4. Pingback: Notice: The Orthosphere May Be Moving | Reaction Times

  5. I will be glad to help if you still need it. Part of my business is managing wordpress implementations. It is a pretty straightforward process but there can be some finicky things depending on your current hosting provider. You don’t really need to change hosting provider to just change the domain that is pointing to it.

  6. Another domain as in your own? Good decision, since WordPress can shut you down at any time they (or people with influence) wish to. As I wrote in my recent article, we are very much heading towards such a time.

  7. The site is hosted at wordpress.com. You, or whoever set up the hosting with WordPress should be able to log in to the user account at wordpress.com and change the domain to which the site (orthosphere.wordpress.com) is mapping (currently orthosphere.org), or remove the mapping altogether and use orthosphere.wordpress.com. No transfer of files or database should be necessary.

    According to WordPress, the mapping can be removed here:

    http://wordpress.com/purchases

    But if you or someone associated with Orthosphere registered orthosphere.org and named themselves as registrant, I cannot see why the domain cannot simply be renewed.

    Bona fide domain registrars cannot elect to put a domain registered to a client up for auction. Are you sure you are not being scammed by a third party posing as your registrar and seeking to extort money on false pretences? Or perhaps a third party registered the domain on your behalf and is now holding you to ransom?

    The WHOIS entry for the domain shows the domain registrar to be http://www.wildwestdomains.com. This company resells domain registration services, so the registration is likely to have been arranged through them by a another company, name unknown.

    I would advise getting in touch with wildwestdomains.com to see if they can shed light on the matter.

    support@wildwestdomains.com

  8. Mark Citadel:

    That’s why it is important to keep full copies of all of your own content, including comments. I could easily re-publish my entire site to a different server, and it would be simple enough to spread the word about a change in URL. Broken links are I suppose a problem, and I’ve considered changing to a private domain to mitigate that problem — but at the end of the day I don’t really care enough to bother, and at this point that would be creating the problem in order to prevent it.

Comment

